9/8 time signature problem with drag&drop in Logic

Milenko Stanisic4 691 views6 posts
  • Milenko Stanisic

Hi guys,
    I am using Logic 8.5 on MacOS 10.5.8

I'm new to MicroTonic, just been using it for a couple of weeks, and I love it! It is interesting, creative, and inspiring. Works very well and does what I expect it to do. So all is great! Except...

Except, I can not figure out how to use MicroTonic with some of my 9/8 time signature songs (9/8 meter). What I did was to make my patterns using 9 steps length, and when I play them in MicroTonic it does exactly what I want - playing all patterns after each other in real 9/8 time signature. But the problem begins when I want to drag and drop MIDI to Logic track. The midi line I receive by doing that does not fit in bars at all. What it does is adding empty space in the end of a beat I made until it fits in a bar. I don't know if you got what I mean, but if my beat of 9 looks like this: 123456789 when I drag and drop MIDI in a track it becomes: 1234567890000000 (where zeros represents the empty space in midi track just to fill the bar). It fills up "empty space" as if I wanted to use all 16 steps in MicroTonic pattern. Of course, a midi file like that does not loop right, it does not fit rhythmically, and it doesn't fit the BPM. I tried to export patterns to audio files too, but it does the same: adding empty space in the end.

Basically, my question is: can MicroTonic be used in such metrics as 5/4 7/8 or 9/8? And how can I export my patterns so it could be used in Logic? I am very grateful for any suggestions or help! Tack på förhand!
  • Magnus Lidström

Hi. I've done some quick tests now and from all I can tell the limitation lies in the host. For example, VSTHost (which has a MIDI-file player) loops odd time-signatures correctly, while Live "pads" the clips to whole 4/4 bars.