book? tutorial? help?

John Verity2 980 views5 posts
  • John Verity

Hi, I am fairly new to electronic music-making but have always been fascinated with drumming and rhythm and dance music - electronic and otherwise. I just bought Microtonic and am getting to know it; it is very powerful and somewhat intimidating, I have to admit, but I think it will be a fun instrument to learn. I am working with it as a plug-in to/for/within AudioMulch.

I am wondering if anyone here might suggest any good books or websites or documents about creating good drum tracks and using them in recordings. I am listening carefully to electronic music I like -mostly by a guy named Uwe Schmidt, aka Atom Heart and Atom TM and Sr. Coconut, who is a true master of rhythm - and trying to mimic it, which sometimes can be difficult, but I am also looking for some principles and rules of thumb and lessons - some wisdom, in other words that might help me organize my thoughts and learning and listening. The more I listen, the more I come to believe that it is drum rhythms, whether synthetic or analog, that make the most exciting and moving pop and dance music do what it does.

Thanks in advance for any input!

Yours in, for now, 4/4,

John

• Jason Anderson

I'm going to approach this from another angle... I am not being sarcastic at all, I am rather being very serious... I do the same myself.

Google paired with YouTube or Vimeo... your best friends for this kind of question. It is MUCH talked about in many of the popular well-established populated electronic music forums around the net as well. I think it would take someone much time to explain it all here (although it might be seen as appropriate due to the fact that MicroTonic is a drum machine) Perhaps all the ins and outs will end up here one day ;)