Patternarium Questions

Jamie Brown199 views3 posts
  • Jamie Brown

Hi,

Firstly I want to say a huge thank you for the hard and ingenious work you do with Sonic Charge, your programs have revolutionised the way I work as a writer and producer of music. I'm the proud owner of all your products, and look forward to whatever exciting things you've got in the works.

I have a few questions about the future of Patternarium:

I love Patternarium. It's brilliant! For me, it's one of the most useful tools at my disposal for when I've got a writers block, looking to beef up a rhythm section, or want to spice up a client's track with an interesting sound. However, part of me worries that in the future, there might be a situation where you may have to take it offline, or kill the experiment due to a lack of perceived interest in the community. You make these best of generational collections which are so helpful, but if you start to see a dwindling number of votes for each passing generation, when will you decide enough is enough and end the Patternarium? Or are you planning on keeping it going for the foreseeable future?

I guess what I'm asking is that if you were to close it, would you make a small, downloadable version which we could just vote on ourselves and still get similar results?

Will you create a completely new seed and starting 'fresh' as it were at some point? Or do you think the results if we did that would be too, um... experimental?

Last question, are there any plans for making a 'Patternarium' but for Synplant? I think a browser-based generational-voting system could produce some really great results for it. Each one could be demoed by a couple of midi notes going up and down a major scale, or some other simple midi demontration similar to how the Patternarium works for uTonic, then we vote on what sounded good to us and see what happens at the end of the generation. Is this something you've thought of before?