Bitspeek/Permut8 are broken in Maschine 2.4

Bungle373 views4 posts
  • Bungle

Just an FYI, but when you save presets in Maschine 2.4, absolutely nothing happens when you reload them in to Bitspeek or Permut8.
    Possibly an issue with your framework and NIs new .nksf preset format ?

• Bungle

Just tested with Microtonic and that works fine

Can't test Echobode or Synplant, my trial time has ran out ;)

• Fredrik Lidström

Hi,

Now I am totally new to Maschine as I did not own one or even tested one before you asked this question. I started playing around with presets and I basically got nothing to work except Synplant. Microtonic and Bitspeek was doing nothing and Permut8 sometimes even loaded the wrong presets. Then NI told me Bitspeek and Permut8 was working for them, and you mentioned Microtonic was working for you, so I figured I must be doing something wrong. When trying to replicate and explain the problem to NI I figured out what I was seeing and what tricked me. Hopefully it is the same problem or related to the problem you are having.

Microtonic, Bitspeek, Permut8 and Echobode all have program banks, which is 16 (30 in Permut8) preset slots that you can change between using program change messages. These are the preset names you find when you use the "Presets >" drop-down menu next to the plug-in names in the Maschine interface.

A Maschine preset saves the entire VST/AU bank but it does not remember the current selected one when you load it back. So depending on what program slot your plug-in was currently using when you load, it will keep using that program slot and most likely end up not being the one you were looking for.