Microtonic on Ableton

RootNotez82 views6 posts
  • RootNotez

I'm new to music, new to DAWs. I started out recently with Teenage Engineering Pocket Operators; and have enjoyed making little compositions.

I watch RealCuckoo's excellent interview with Magnus Lindström; and loved the connection to the demo scene; and the challenges of optimizing fiddly little ASM routines to make powerful musical devices.

YouTube Video

I saved up some $$$ and bought the SonicCharge suite. There is so much to learn.

I've been really struggling to get Microtonic running on Abelton. Part of this is that I don't know what a reasonable workflow in a DAW is. I'm used to composing on the Pocket Operator, and chaining together 16 step sequences. I've been trying to use the Microtonic sequencer to compose bars and patterns; and then bring them into Ableton as MIDI clips. Either by dragging the whole Pattern into my DAW, or by Option-Clicking and dragging Channel Patterns into my DAW.

Now with MIDI in my DAW, I need to make sure that that MIDI is sent to Microtonic. And that I am capturing the Audio back out from Microtonic I mostly use the VST3. I've used both the Single and Multi VST3.

I am on Ableton Live Lite 11.3.20, on M1 Macos 13.6.3; the Lite version has some limitations. It maxes out at 16 clips and 16 tracks. It also doesn't have all of the Devices that higher-end versions have; specifically it doesn't have the External Instrument device.
    See: https://help.ableton.com/hc/en-us/articles/209774265-Using-hardware-synthesizers-with-Live#externalinstrument

This means that I cannot use the Tom Mosler drum rack solution.
    See:
    https://soniccharge.com/forum/topic/71-microtonic-drum-rack-for-ableton-live.

YouTube Video